Education

Below is a list of schools and organizations that offer courses in bookbinding and the book arts. These range from one-day workshops to degree programmes. Inclusion in this list should not be construed as an endorsement by CBBAG. List is current as of July 2021.


Our focus in on Canadian opportunities, but where appropriate we have included locations in the United States and outside of North America. Any additions please contact cbbag@cbbag.ca


Schools and Organizations Offering Book Arts Education

Canada

The Alcuin Society – www.alcuinsociety.com

AQRAL (Association Québécoise des relieurs et des artisans du livres) – www.relieursduquebec.ca

Arts Underground – www.artsunderground.ca

Atelier aux mille et une feuilles – www.relieur.ca

Au Papier Japonais – www.aupapierjaponais.com

Book History & Print Culture (University of Toronto) – www.bhpctoronto.com

Calligraphers’ Guild of Manitoba – www.calligraphymanitoba.com

Canadian Bookbinders and Book Artists Guild – www.cbbag.ca

Carleton University Book Arts Lab – www.library.carleton.ca/research/subject-guides/book-arts-detailed-guide

Centre des métiers du cuir de Montréal – www.cmcm.qc.ca

Centre for Craft Nova Scotia – www.craftcourses.ca

C2 Centre for Craft – www.c2centreforcraft.ca

Haliburton School of the Arts – www.flemingcollege.ca/school/haliburton-school-of-the-arts

The Japanese Paper Place – www.japanesepaperplace.com

La Tranchefile – www.latranchefile.com

Massey College Library – www.masseycollege.ca/library

McGill University Book Arts Laboratory – www.mcgill.ca/library/branches/rarebooks/book-arts-laboratory

NSCAD University – https://nscad.ca

OCAD University – www.ocadu.ca/academics

Ottawa School of Art – https://artottawa.ca

Paperhouse Studio – www.paperhousestudio.com

The Papertrail – www.papertrail.ca

Queen’s University – www.queensu.ca/art/art-conservation

Red Deer College – www.rdc.ab.ca

Saint John Arts Centre – www.sjartscentre.ca

Void Gallery – www.voidgallery.ca

 

United States

American Academy of Bookbinding – www.bookbindingacademy.org

Austin Book Arts Centre – www.atxbookarts.org

Book Arts Guild – www.bookartsguild.org

Book Arts LA – www.bookartsla.org

Book Paper Thread – www.bookpaperthread.com

Center for Book Arts – www.centerforbookarts.org

Chena River Marblers – www.chenarivermarblers.com

Creative Arts Workshop – www.creativeartsworkshop.org

Frederick Book Arts Centre – www.frederickbookarts.org

Guild of Bookworkers – www.guildofbookworkers.org

The Hand Bookbinders of California – www.handbookbinders.org

Hollander’s – www.hollanders.com

Jaffe Center for Book Arts – www.library.fau.edu/depts/spc/JaffeCenter/index.php

Minneapolis College of Art and Design – https://mcad.edu/continuing-education

Minnesota Centre for Book Arts – www.mnbookarts.org

The Morgan Conservatory – www.morganconservatory.org

North Bennet St. School – www.nbss.edu

North Redwoods Book Arts Guild – www.norbag.net

Old Way Workshops – https://cargocollective.com/oldway

Paper and Book Intensive – www.paperbookintensive.org

Penland School of Crafts – www.penland.org

Pyramid Atlantic Art Centre – www.pyramidatlanticartcenter.org

Rare Book School – https://rarebookschool.org

San Francisco Center for the Book – www.sfcb.org

Seastone Papers – www.seastonepapers.com

The School for Bookbinding Arts – www.schoolforbookbindingarts.com

University of Alabama (Book Arts Program) – www.bookarts.ua.edu

University of Iowa Center for the Book – http://book.grad.uiowa.edu

Wells College Book Arts Center – www.wells.edu/academics/book-arts-center

Western New York Book Arts Center – www.wnybookarts.org


Outside of North America

Atelier d’Arts Appliqués du Vésinet – www.aaav.asso.fr

Bookbinding Out of the Box – www.bookbindingoutofthebox.com

Buchbinder-Colleg – www.buchbinder-colleg.de

Centro del Bel Libro Ascona – www.cbl-ascona.ch

City Lit – www.citylit.ac.uk

Designer Bookbinders – www.designerbookbinders.org.uk

Florence School of Fine Arts – www.theflorenceschool.it

Learn Bookbinding – www.learnbookbinding.co.uk

London Centre for Book Arts – www.londonbookarts.org

London Rare Books School – www.ies.sas.ac.uk/london-rare-books-school

Meister der Einbandkunst – www.mde-einbandkunst.eu

NSW Guild of Craft Bookbinders – www.nswbookbinders.org

Paris Ateliers – www.paris-ateliers.org

Queensland Bookbinders Guild Inc – www.qbg.org.au

Santa Reparata International School of Art – www.santareparata.org

Scuola Intarnazionale di Grafica – www.scuolagrafica.it

The Society of Bookbinders – www.societyofbookbinders.com

University of the West of England, Centre for Fine Print Research – www.bookarts.uwe.ac.uk/cpd

West Dean College – www.westdean.org.uk
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software